New York Philharmonic is doing age diversity right

If you’re looking for a group that’s doing age diversity right you need look no farther than the New York Philharmonic, which has recently listed the full list of recipients to the Marie-Josée Kravis Prize for New Music, and thanks to nonagenarian composer Henri Dutilleux the mix is impressive.


See, although Dutilleux was awarded the prize he asked to share it with more artists, including Anthony Cheung, the youngest being born in 1982, and Composers Franck Krawczyk and Peter Eötvös born in 1969 and 1944 respectively.  All are highly accomplished composers active in the new music field.  The  Marie-Josée Kravis Prize consists of $200,000 and is to be given every two years for an “extraordinary artistic endeavor in the field of new music.”


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: