Seahawks Safety Earl Thomas Holds Fundraiser For Families in Need

Image: Earl Thomas' Guardian Angel Foundation

Image: Earl Thomas’ Guardian Angel Foundation

If you’re a sports or celebrity fan, it’s hard to avoid hearing about stories of highly-paid professionals flaunting their riches and buying expensive things we all dream of. Tabloids, magazines, and TV ads fulfill a need for those of us who want to live our lives vicariously through our idols; it’s evident that these fame-and-fortune tales often overshadow the stories about athletes who are engaged in giving back to the community.

Charitable giving is a passion to some athletes as they’ve worked tirelessly behind the scenes to raise money and support organizations that give aid or assist those in need and are less fortunate.

For Seattle Seahawks free safety Earl Thomas, giving back is more than showing up at a local hospital once a year or signing memorabilia for a charity auction.

Thomas recently hosted 175 guests at Daniel’s Broiler in Bellevue for his second annual Steaks & Seahawks event, a gathering that helped raise funds for children and families in need. He was joined by nearly 20 other Seahawks teammates to support Thomas’ Guardian Angel Foundation. After recently revealing he was diagnosed with attention-deficit/hyperactivity disorder (ADHD) while in college, this year’s event added more of a personal touch, as he intends to help Seattle kids and his hometown Orange, Texas who are facing similar disorders.

“This is the first year I kind of put my hands on it, put my rhythm into it. It’s targeting kids and teens that have ADD and ADHD. It’s something that I’ve battled my whole life, and I’m finding out more and more about it as I keep getting help, so I want them to have that same opportunity,” Thomas said at his Steaks & Seahawks event.

Thomas is not only passionate about football:

“Anything I do, I want to do it just like football. I put my passion and everything I got in it. My teammates, you know, these people that are being affected by the same thing I’m going through. I’m gonna do the same thing — inject my own passions. These guys, before they came to the Seahawks, they weren’t playing with passion like that. I’m trying to tell you, and I’m comfortable saying it, I’m gonna have the same impact on the people that are fed.”

Thomas also carries out a series of yearly efforts to help those in need including a Thanksgiving turkey giveaway, a winter coat drive, and a football camp in Orange, Texas.

If you’d like to donate to his Guardian Angel Foundation, click here.

Leave a Reply

